Skip to main content


LACA reveals shortlisted Awards for Excellence finalists

06 Jun 2023
The finalists for the 2023 LACA Awards for Excellence, which recognise individuals and teams that have made a 'real difference' to school food and education catering, have been announced.

The winners will be revealed at the LACA Awards for Excellence dinner taking place on the evening of Thursday 6th July during the LACA Main Event.

Being nominated for a LACA award gives a sense of prestige and honour at a personal level and raised the professional reputation of the organisation or school employing award winners. A LACA award is an invaluable promotional tool in any organisation or school's marketing strategy and speaks volumes about its high standards of customer service and care.

Brad Pearce, chair of LACA, said: "The LACA Awards for Excellence celebrate the very best of the best from across the school food sector. I want to congratulate everyone who's made the shortlist - that, in itself is a real achievement and recognition of your hard work and commitment. Judging certainly wasn't easy! I look forward to announcing the winners at our Gala Dinner and Awards Evening next month. Good luck everyone!"

2023 LACA Awards shortlist:

LACA & Natasha Allergy Research Foundation Allergy Management Award – NEW FOR 2023

  • Chartwells Medical Diets Team
  • Barry Dovell – Local Food Links
  • HC3S
  • Kirklees Catering Allergen Team
  • Charlotte Quick – ISS UK (Education)

LACA Apprentice/Trainee Award, sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions

  • Helena Brown - HCL
  • Tracey Mason – NYES Catering

LACA Catering Business of the Year Award, sponsored by Rational

  • Derbyshire Catering Service
  • Olive Dining Team
  • The Pantry Catering
  • SIPS Catering
  • Waltham Forest Catering

LACA Primary School Catering Team of the Year Award, sponsored by Middleton Foods

  • Crooksbarn Primary School Catering Team – Stockton Borough Council
  • Emmanuel School Catering Team – Waltham Forest Catering
  • Knights Enham Junior School Catering Team – HC3S
  • Littletown JI&N – Kirklees Catering
  • Mellers Primary Catering Team – Nottingham City Council

LACA Secondary School Catering Team of the Year Award, sponsored by Bidfood

  • De Ferrer’s Pingle Catering Team – Caterlink
  • St Francis of Assisi Catering Team – Caterlink
  • Thomas Deacon Academy Catering
  • Whitcliffe Mount High School – Kirklees Catering

LACA Marketing Award, sponsored by Wafflemeister

  • Enquire Learning Trust
  • HC3S Business Development Team
  • Local Food Links Marketing Team
  • Norse Catering
  • Nottingham City Council
  • NYES Catering - Marketing and Development Team
  • SIPS Education
  • Waltham Forest Catering

The Nan Berger Memorial Award, sponsored by Cereal Partners

  • HCL
  • ISS Education Nutrition & Marketing Team
  • NYES Catering Technical Team
  • SchoolGrid
  • Linda Seales – South Tyneside Council
  • Torfaen Schools Catering Team

The Roger Davies Outstanding Achievement Award, sponsored by Green Cuisine

  • Christine Cornall – Waltham Forest Council
  • Caroline Morgan – Local Food Links

LACA Unsung Hero Award, sponsored by Civica

  • Helen Buxton – NYES Catering
  • Vicky Clair – Stockton Borough Council
  • Jane Caufield – Caterlink
  • Shari Fowlds – Thomas Deacon Education Trust
  • Peter Sawula – Juniper Ventures
  • Katie Wood – Thomas Deacon Education Trust

LACA Outstanding Supplier Award

  • Bidfood
  • JJ Foodservice
  • Quorn Foods
  • Youngs

LACA Region of the Year

  • East Midlands
  • East of England
  • Wales
  • Yorkshire and Humberside

You can book places for the awards dinner on Thursday 6th July to see the winners revealed via the LACA Main Event website.